If you plan on serving alcohol at all in Dallas, you are required to obtain an alcohol license in Dallas TX. The state department that oversees the alcohol license process in Texas is the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC).
Each year, this department issues about 1,000 alcohol certifications across the state. It is not difficult to obtain an alcohol license in Dallas TX, but knowing what to expect never hurt anybody.
Why Get an Alcohol License in Dallas TX?
Requiring businesses and individuals to obtain a license or certification in order to sell liquor, alcohol, and beer is not uncommon. Most states require some form of alcohol licensing. This is not done to solely reap extra money from businesses, but rather a way to offer credibility and hold these sellers accountable.
When you apply for an alcohol license in Dallas TX, you will have to undergo a thorough training program. This training program is in place to teach sellers and servers about the liquor laws, penalties for selling to minors, and other fine points of selling and serving alcohol in the state of Texas.
Two Types of Alcohol Permits Available in Texas
In Texas, there are two different types of alcohol permits sellers and servers are allowed to apply for:
- Liquor license
- Beer license
Any business, permanent or temporary, that sells any type of alcohol should have the respective permit for it. Employees should be TABC-certified to ensure total compliance with all aspects of Texas law.
Other Items of Note
Texas liquor and alcohol laws can be a bit confusing at times. The state limits are:
- Must be 21 years old to purchase/drink alcohol
- Must be 18 years old to serve or sell alcohol
- Legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit is .08
Things can get a little confusing when you look at specific counties areas of the state. Some counties are dry while others are wet, and some counties mix laws to make things even more confusing.